Event Announcement: Word, Song, and Art, January 10th at 4PM

Readings of poetry and prose interwoven with watercolor illustrations, film, and a capella singing

Laurie Newell “startling music that weaves the personal and the global, the past and the present, the interior life and the outer world” -Kim Rosen, author of Saved by a Poem

Heather Sellers “cadence of chant…serious voodoo…magic incantations—a scary, beautiful world” – poet Barbara Hamby

Sarah Van Arsdale “as fresh and vivid as a cold summer lake….smart and full of feeling” Mark Doty, National Book Award winner

Soho Voce deliciously joyous and inventive improvisational singing

The Lounge, Hudson View Gardens
Pinehurst Avenue and 183rd Street

Sunday, January 10th at 4:00 p.m.

Suggested donation of $7 includes free drinks and snacks

Reception after to meet the writers

Laurie Newell is a fan of words and of putting them together in unusual ways. She has appeared in New York in musical and poetic performance at the 55 Bar and Nuyorican Poets Cafes. She has lived and worked on four continents.

Heather Sellers is the author of three volumes of poetry, three books on the writing process, and a children’s book. Georgia Under Water, a collection of linked short stories, was a Barnes and Noble Discover pick. Her memoir on face blindness is forthcoming from Riverhead Books. Her work has appeared in O, Oprah’s magazine and Best of the South

Sarah Van Arsdale is a novelist (Toward Amnesia, 1996, and Blue, winner of the Peter Taylor Prize for the Novel, 2003) who has recently expanded into drawing, painting and filmmaking. She teaches creative writing from her home at Hudson View Gardens.

The improvisational vocal collective Soho Voce spontaneously invents song, using a variety of musical forms in the tradition of Bobby McFerrin and Rhiannon.


Advertisements
Published in: on December 30, 2009 at 6:01 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sundaybestreadingseries.wordpress.com/2009/12/30/word-song-and-art-january-10th-at-4pm/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Cool!!

  2. Hooray–Internet presence for the Sunday Series!! Look forward to this Sunday’s event.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: